Travel Resources

Cameron
4 min readJul 21, 2016

--

I love to travel, but sometimes it can get a little pricey and stressful to do so. Here are a few of my favorite resources I use to help me save money and relieve stress when booking my trips.

AirBnB

My days of staying in hotels are long gone thanks to this revolutionizing company here. Airbnb is a large community marketplace for people to list, discover, and book unique accommodations online all over the world. You can literally book an apartment, a castle, or a villa for days or months, often way cheaper than a traditional hotel. I stayed 2 nights in Manhattan near Times Square for $110 total instead of the $200/night hotels. Plus, you get to converse with your local host and get insider tips on local hot spots. Kind of like you’re own personal travel concierge. Click here for $30 off your first reservation of $105 or more (before taxes and fees). You can even refer your fellow travelers to both get $30 credit.

Couchsurfing

Couchsurfing is like a global community of over 10 million travelers. You can use it to find a place to stay from people that are willing to share a little part of their life (as well as their couch)These are often fellow travelers looking to exchange cultures and travel experiences with others that we call,“Friends we haven’t met yet.” There is no money involved whatsoever, it’s just based on friendships and the love for travel. If you don’t mind sleeping on a couch then this is for you, especially if you are on a tight budget. These people that open up their homes to others are not doing so just to give you a place to crash at for free. Every host is looking to get just as much out of the experience as the traveler. They want to get to know you, learn something from you, and make new memories together. All the members have reviews and must be verified by social security numbers, phone numbers, facebook, etc. so it is completely safe.

You can learn more about traveling for little (and no) money here.

Uber

Hands down my favorite and one of my most used ways to get around on vacation. Download the app and you can request safe, affordable rides with the push of a button. They are the absolute easiest, most reliable ways to travel, and they couldn’t be easier to use. You can even get more free rides by referring your friends or travel partners to double up on the rewards.Click here and you will get a discount on your first ride.

Groupon Getaways

I love using Groupon Getaways because of the variety they offer. Here you can book an entire all-inclusive vacation (some including airfare), a weekend trip, or simply just a night at a hotel at great prices. Be aware that there are different restrictions or requirements for each deal you may come across so always read the fine print.

Skyscanner

One of my favorite search engines s to use when booking flights. Skyscanner searches through 1,200 airlines, including budget carriers, to compare a ton of flights to help find the cheapest flight possible.

Transit App

This app was designed specifically to make public transportation easier and more accessible to use. Type in your destination, and Transit will show you a list of options from exactly where you are at. The list will include options for busses, trains, and subways. You can even call for Uber straight from this app as well. No need to try to read multiple confusing maps anymore. Transit gives you everything you need to get around all in one app.

AutoSlash

The ultimate rental car search engine. Autoslash will apply any discount or coupon available, track rental price changes, and even automatically re-book the reservation for you if the prices drops all the way up until the day you pick up. All you have to do is type in the location of pick up and enter the dates you are looking to rent for and they will do the rest. It is an absolute no brainer if you are needing to rent a car on your trip.

Evreward

This website will search the internet’s top rewards programs to help you find the absolute best deal to save money and earn rewards every time you shop. I always start here because it lists all of the other resources I use and I can pick which one offers the most bang for my buck. You can search for cash back programs, credit card offers, and even airline rewards programs all at once. Their slogan is “One search. Every reward.”

  • You can also use plenty of my resources listed on my Shopping Resources page that can be useful when booking travel to save you tons of money.

Planning vacations can be a little overwhelming if you don’t do it often or enjoy the process. Personally, I love planning trips for myself and my friends. I enjoy it so much I’ve decided to offer it as a service for a small fee which I can save you even more than that by planning part or all of your trip for you. If this interests you feel free to email me directly at Cameron@lifedomination.co to discuss it.

Also, you may or may not know that I am currently writing a book that will contain everything I know about traveling better and for less money. To stay up to date on the books progress, please sign up for my newsletter below.

--

--